Jan Thoben

Boxed Set
Alvin Lucier.
I am sitting in a room.
Archival Recordings 1969-2019

Limited Edition Boxed Set (500 numbered copies)

Jan Thoben, Bernhard Rietbrock and Trevor Saint, the editors of this publication, compiled ten archival recordings of Alvin Lucier’s most well-known composition “I am sitting in a room” as well as a 124-page book containing numerous articles and Mary Lucier's complete Polaroid Image Series: ROOM. For the first time, this collection of recordings represents the widely unknown genealogy of what is today regarded as one of the most important experimental compositions of the 20th century. The editors were able to unearth previously unreleased archival material ranging from Lucier’s first preliminary attempt to realize this piece in 1969 to his last performance of "I am sitting in a room" in Riga, Latvia in 2019.

This publication includes texts by:
Christopher Burns, Nicolas Collins, Florian Cramer, James Fei, Seth Kim-Cohen, Brandon LaBelle, Matthieu Saladin, Sabine Sanio, Martin Supper, Anette Vandsø

released 2021 by Sound on Paper Editions